Name someone who deserves more credit than they get. And for bonus points, how to change things so they get more.

I feel bad that there isn’t a clearcut answer to this one for me. I think there are many people in the world who deserve more credit but I’m struggling to come up with just one name. A part of me feels like I should be writing some amazing answer about a magnificent selfless soul. But there’s nothing really there in my brain. I blame the excessive amount of pistachios I ate yesterday.

I am instead going to answer this slight alternative:

Who in your world or profession is under-appreciated?

Well I don’t have a profession, I’m a student (amongst other things) primarily.

However there is definitely one person who is under-appreciated, actually pretty much unknown in my world and that’s Bridget Regan.

I mentioned previously that I’m a Legend of the Seeker fan (a fantasy TV show based on the Sword of Truth series of books by Terry Goodkind) and Bridget Regan plays the female lead, Kahlan Amnell. I won’t go into the details of why the character has strong meaning for me and therefore why Bridget has my complete respect.

Bridget (or B as Legend of the Seeker fans (or ‘Seekers’) like to call her) is in no way under appreciated by those who know of her – Seeker fans absolutely adore her and anxiously wait for her next tweet on Twitter. However there are far too many people who don’t know of her, and that’s why I feel she’s under appreciated in my world. In my little numpty life away from running around the Seeker fandom no one would know who I was talking about if I mentioned B. Which I think is a real shame considering she has a role in Sex and the City under her belt.

B is definitely one of the most talented actresses I’ve ever witnessed. She’s beautiful (gorgeous blue eyes, jaw-dropping smile etc.) but she’s also so dynamic with the emotions she can believably portray. After watching her for just a short while in the pilot of Legend of the Seeker I was already in awe. Oh, and I left out her hair. Her oh so epic luscious long locks. Her hair is worth a post all on its own. But where was I?

Oh yes, her acting ability. It’s the sort that’s award-winning, and I’m not exaggerating. Take for example an episode of Seeker where B’s character is ‘torn’ into two. One is a headstrong all-duty no-play amazingly sexy (sorry, had to put that, it’s true) woman and the other is a woman completely in love and led by her emotions entirely. The fact that Bridget can pull both of these roles off in just over 40 minutes and convince you of  their existence is just incredible.

Just watch any scene of Bridget’s and you’ll see exactly why everyone needs to know who this lovely lady is.

I think there’s a second part to this topic? I don’t know, I’ve gotten distracted by thinking about B’s hair. Something about getting the chosen person more credit?

Hmm, loving her as much as I do, continuing to tweet about her on my Seeker Twitter account, writing this post… introducing people to her.

Loving, respecting, admiring her completely. You know you want to join the club!

P.S. I started off by saying I felt I should write about a magnificent selfless soul. Bridget is a magnificent selfless soul. One reason for this is the fact how much she cares for her cat, Henry, who she adopted from an animal rescue centre in New Zealand.

4 thoughts on “Name someone who deserves more credit than they get. And for bonus points, how to change things so they get more.

  1. Beautiful natural writing. I love your voice. I sense a hint of those qualities you admire in Bridget Regan shining from you via your words. Looking forward to reading more (assuming your keyboard doesn’t get jammed with stray pistachio hulls).

    • Aww, what a lovely comment! Thank you very much!

      I did chuckle at the “stray pistachio hulls” mention! I will admit to having a late-evening snack on far too many of the little munchies last night! I’ll try to not cover my keyboard with too many. 😉

  2. Ok. This might or might not be something you will like to hear but Bridget actually reminds me of Evangeline Lilly…

    Am I mad?

Leave a Reply

