What are you looking forward to this year?

Topic #13

Easy. Being happier, truer (to myself and those in my life), and feel more content with myself since coming out as gay.

Sometimes it scares me that I’ve made this decision, sometimes it really excites me (it explains a lot of things in my life). But in either case I finally feel like I’ve opened up a real part of me, an honest one that’s never been public before – not even to myself!

I’m looking forward to how this journey will take my life and I’m sure this will make 2011 one of my most interesting years yet. πŸ˜‰

For the first time in my life I don’t feel like I’m ‘hiding’ or putting on a ‘mask’ – and I never knew what it was that I was hiding. Now that I know and that I’m slowly getting it out there it’s frequently putting a smile on my face!

4 thoughts on “What are you looking forward to this year?

  1. Have you told any other friends recently? It would be interesting to read about how your friends respond over a period of time… πŸ™‚
    Have you been able to connect with a community in your area? It might be time to make some additional friends and share your journey with others who might be going through same. πŸ™‚
    Looks like I’ll be doing the vampire schedule for blog visits/comments… My day times are getting hectic…. but I’m all in. πŸ™‚
    Elizabeth

    • I have told one more housemate – just waiting for everyone to come back to uni! I’m actually itching to just get it out there so that I don’t feel like I’m hiding!

      I haven’t touched on the gay community here yet but am planning to do so through my university and locally through this city (thankfully two of my housemates are more than happy to come along to any gay events with me!).

      Ah yes the vampire schedule! I know I’ll start to struggle next week when I’m back in lectures etc – don’t get too busy though E! πŸ˜‰

  2. that is very brave of you! we all hide behind masks, whether it concerns our sexuality or not, and once we have the confidence to break free, i think that’s when we’ll find real, honest-to-goodness happiness.
    πŸ™‚

    • Oh thank you! It’s a rather lovely feeling to have once you start to discover who you really are and let the masks disappear. πŸ™‚

      I’m very excited about it all!

Leave a Reply

