Happy Place

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happy Place.”

My happy place is quite obvious to those that know me – any time I’m on a bike. I fell in love with cycling whilst I was studying at university and never looked back, I’ve even been working as a bike mechanic. I always meant to be a roadie – specifically riding a road bike, but went on a uni mountain bike trip to Dalby Forest in North Yorkshire and instantly fell in love!

I bought a pretty basic hardtail and eventually changed a lot of it’s components to make it a much better bike. Unfortunately I made it too nice and it got stolen. May 2014 I bought an ex demo full suspension mountain bike and boy do I love that bike! Every time I ride it I’m grinning. So it’s fair to say my most happy place is on this bike. It’s such a perfect ride.

Untitled

I did get a road bike, a Pinarello FP2 but injuries put me out of racing. I cycled the inaugural Prudential RideLondon which was my first and only 100 mile bike ride. I’ve recently sold that bike and bought a Trek Silque road bike instead and it suits me far more. Road riding has it’s benefits and I do enjoy it, it’s just not as fun as mountain biking. Which is why I do both. I typically road ride over summer and mountain bike over winter.

I’m off mountain biking in Wales this week so I don’t know if I’ll be posting or not. I’ve not ridden there yet so fingers crossed it’ll be amazing! I’ll just love being on my pride and joy with one of my closest friends so that’s good enough for me!

One thought on “Happy Place

Leave a Reply

